Love God, Trust God

I’ve been reading through Jonathan Edwards’ Charity and Its Fruits lately and really finding it helpful. If you’re like me, and find self-righteousness a constant companion, and lack-of-love for others a natural temper, you will be deeply served by this book. Here is a little quote that has recently served me out of a whole section that’s been deeply edifying:

He who does not love God will not trust him. He never will with true acquiescence* of soul cast himself into the hands of God, or the arms of his mercy. (Yale, VIII:138)

* A synonym for acquiescence is submissiveness.

You can purchase the book here: Charity and Its Fruits
Or you can read the book online for free from here: The Jonathan Edwards Center at Yale University

About Jacob Young

Jacob is the lead pastor of King’s Cross Church in Manchester, New Hampshire, and a church planter with Sovereign Grace Churches. He and Michelle have been married for 9 years and they have 3 boys, Lord help them. He’s a fan of a good pipe, the Patriots and the Red Sox. Tom Brady is the best quarter back of all time. Of. All. Time.
This entry was posted in Charity and Its Fruits, Jonathan Edwards, Love and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love God, Trust God

  1. Jill D says:

    This is on my wish list, too! Do you check out CCEF’s biblical counseling reading lists like I do to find recommended reading? Haha.

  2. Jacob says:

    Ha! Nope, I just try to read where I see my own weaknesses and helpful books meet!

Leave a comment