The prayer of a father in the middle of the night

The Lord has been very kind to me over the last year to help me see my need for Jesus in the bare hours of the night when he uses my son to teach me that I am not God, but am in desperate need of Him. Here is a prayer I’m learning, slowly, to pray that is simply enough to capture what’s needed:

Lord,

I’m a man of weakness;
You are a God full of strength.
This is you loving me,
To awaken me at 2am.

Give me grace to:

  • trust your providence
  • lean on your power
  • learn your patience.

Protect me from:

  • Anger
  • Self-pity
  • Self-love.

Make me a servant like Jesus to my family,
That Jesus would be great in my child’s eyes.

Amen.

About Jacob Young

Jacob is the lead pastor of King’s Cross Church in Manchester, New Hampshire, and a church planter with Sovereign Grace Churches. He and Michelle have been married for 9 years and they have 3 boys, Lord help them. He’s a fan of a good pipe, the Patriots and the Red Sox. Tom Brady is the best quarter back of all time. Of. All. Time.
This entry was posted in children, family, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment