Prayer of a weary parent in the morning

Man’s highest happiness consists in holiness, for it is by this that the reasonable creature is united to God, the fountain of all good. ~ Jonathan Edwards, Charity and Its Fruits, 39.

Dear Lord,

Your goodness crafts and molds every day, even this one that you have awoken me into preceded by restless sleep. By your grace, I do not doubt your goodness in this design, but I do see temptations in the day ahead. Keep my feet on the path of the fear of the Lord that I might not slander your goodness in how you have loved us today. I am disposed to find my pleasure in complaining and grumbling about exhaustion’s headache and sickness’s creaks. Lift my eyes to find Jesus more compelling, and rest in his loving providence for my life. Posture my heart to find my happiness in you, and not the venting of foolish complaints. In such a posture, grow me in holiness, for happiness in you is the source of true, lasting, sweet holiness. In such a posture, like an oak lifting branches to the sun, fill me with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ alone.

I am weary Lord, but you are good. Be my happiness today.
In Christ I come,
In Christ I live,
In Christ I hope.

Amen.

About Jacob Young

Jacob is the lead pastor of King’s Cross Church in Manchester, New Hampshire, and a church planter with Sovereign Grace Churches. He and Michelle have been married for 9 years and they have 3 boys, Lord help them. He’s a fan of a good pipe, the Patriots and the Red Sox. Tom Brady is the best quarter back of all time. Of. All. Time.
This entry was posted in Christian Life, Jonathan Edwards, Prayer, quotes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment